The Struggles of the Transgendered–Renee Thorne, CCNY

This post was written by a student in Lynn Reid’s Writing for the Sciences class at the City College of New York. After researching a scientifically debatable topic and writing about it for an audience of academic peers, this assignment asks students to present a multi-modal argument of the same topic to a popular audience.

I decided to write my final project on the subject of what it means to be transgendered. I focused on who the transgendered are, the struggles they face, and the ways in which social constructs such as gender roles and gender stereotypes limit these individuals, preventing them from feeling free to be who they are. I have been dodging this subject because it is a touchy area to dive in to. I always get very emotional when the issue of transgendered people comes up because it is, in a way, personal. It is not that I myself deal with thoughts of changing my sex, but a close friend of mine does, and I know the turmoil he faces every day. I find myself becoming angry at the unfairness of his situation, and saddened by the fact that I cannot do anything to help him other than offer moral support. Even though I wanted to avoid the subject for these reasons, I also decided that I had to tackle the subject for these reasons. My friend has helped me understand just what it means to be transgendered, so I thought it was important that I help someone else understand as well.

http://notebook.zoho.com/nb/public/rte90xx/book/335672000000003301

This entry was posted in CCR exchange: Stanford-CCNY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

