Greeting from first batch of Stanford students

What’s up my fellow global citizens! My name is McKenzie Wilson and I’m a first year student on the one and only Farm, otherwise known as Stanford University. As of right now, at eleven o’clock in the morning, my day has been rather ordinary, apart from the uncharacteristically cold and cloudy weather.  After going to bed unusually early around midnight last night, I awoke to my alarm at the bright hour of eight. I proceeded to quietly get ready for my day to avoid waking my roommate, who goes to bed around five in the morning and wakes up around two in the afternoon. After packing my books for the day’s classes I went to the dining hall to grab breakfast, where I read the paper and caught up with friends over a tasty belgian waffle that I am proud to say I made myself! Once my morning hunger had been satisfied, I went to Sports Medicine to see the doctor, and then to the Athlete Academic Resource Center to do some work before ten o’clock class. By this time it was around nine, and I had an hour to spare, so I went to the post office to pick up a few packages from my parents, who I then called to thank. After a half hour phone call home, it was time for my first class of the day, Sustainability and Collapse, which was an hour long lecture discussing Minamata Disease and was surprisingly interesting. Once lecture ended, I hopped on my bike and road to the class I am currently sitting in, the Fake News: The Rhetoric of Truthiness.
The rest of my day is just as busy as my morning. I have chemistry right after this class ends, and then it’s off to sailing practice until dinner tonight. After dinner, I’ll grab a quick shower and then head off to chemistry tutoring with some of my sailing teammates, before heading back to my dorm for a meeting at ten o’clock.  Hopefully, after the meeting, I’ll be able to get some work done before I pack up my sailing gear for this weekend, since I’m traveling to a regatta down in southern California. And then, after all of this is done, I can finally get some much needed sleep.

Hello! My name is Tara Trujillo, and this is a typical day in my life here. On most days, I don’t have class until 11 a.m. My roommate, who I share a bedroom with and sleep just a few feet away from, has class at 10, so her alarm wakes me up when it goes off at 9. I have this problem where I can’t fall back asleep after I wake up in the morning, so I get up and walk out of my room down the hall to the bathroom where I attempt to wake up with a shower. On my walk back to my room, in my bathrobe and with a towel on my head, I walk past the cute guy from the room next door, trying to avoid eye contact. I live in a co-ed dorm on a co-ed floor, with students in all four grades on my floor as well.
After I get over that embarrassment and get ready for my day—which have, up until now, been nice and sunny on a regular basis—for breakfast I eat Lucky Charms or Rice Krispies that I stole in zip-lock baggies from the dining hall at dinner the night before. Ten minutes before my writing class on The Daily Show and The Colbert Report, “The Rhetoric of Truthiness,” begins, I head outside my dorm and bike across campus. After that class ends, I grab lunch in a café that’s in the same building, then bike over to my chemistry lecture, fifty intolerable minutes.
Following chem, I bike all the way back across campus to my dorm, where I get ready for my P.E. class at the gym, Abs and Glutes—probably some of the best forty-five minutes of my day. If it’s a Monday or Wednesday, after the gym I bike back to the quad and meet my Running Club, and a big group of us go on a six-mile run or so.
When I get back, exhausted and starving, I grab dinner with my friends in the dining hall, then return back to my room for a long night of homework (or probably more procrastinating and socializing than work), before I finally go to bed at around 1.

My name is Jason; I’m 18 years old and a freshman at Stanford.  I’m originally from New York, which is the east coast of the US, and I moved out here to the west coast for college.  All freshman, including myself, live in dormitories on campus and almost all of the rooms are doubles so it’s me and one roommate.  I’m a physics major so right now I’m taking a couple physics classes, but I also have to take liberal arts classes like intro to humanities and this writing and rhetoric class.  Aside from the homework that I get, which is mostly reading, writing, or physics problems, I have free time to play intramural sports (football and soccer), watch tv shows online, go out on the weekends, etc.  Usually each weekday consists of attending two or three classes, which can be at any time from 9am to 7pm, and eating meals around classes.  Most of my free time during weekdays is used for either doing homework or just relaxing by say, watching tv, hanging out with friends in the dorm, or going to the gym.  I wake up at 8am or 10am, depending on what day it is, and usually go to bed around 12 or 1am because I’ll stay up to try to do some work, but most nights just end up being a bunch of us procrastinating and talking in one of our dorm rooms.  Weekends are much different, on Saturday I work during the day, play intramural sports, and then go out to a party at night to one of the fraternity houses on campus, and usually end up going to bed past 3am.  Sundays, however, have become solely for work because most people go out Friday and Saturday and leave the homework until Sunday.  There are also several varsity sport games throughout the week to see.  Right now, football, soccer, volleyball, cross country, and some other sports are in season.  Outside of campus is a city that we can get to by bike, bus, or car and then there’s a train that we can use to get to other nearby cities, for when we just want to explore the city or at going to a concert or some other event.  We also have breaks during the year when we can go back home, our major breaks are for Thanksgiving (American holiday), Christmas, and another break in the spring, so during those breaks I’ll be going back home to New York.

Hello, my name is Luis Alamilla. This morning I awoke bright and early around 10:30, only a half hour late for my first class of the day, Economics 1A.  I didn’t realize this at first, as I was just trying to rub the sleep out of my eyes and trudged down the hall to brush my teeth.  This completed, I continued back to my room in the dormitory, a three-story structure housing about ninety-students, and had a quick drink of water from the mini-fridge I had bought at the beginning of the year and installed in my room.  A few minutes later, contemplating what I would get for breakfast in the dining hall downstairs, I noticed the clock and with a start began frantically searching for my backpack, cell phone, and wallet while simultaneously pulling on yesterday’s jeans and picking a fresh t-shirt from my closet.
From there, I proceeded to the auditorium where my Econ lecture is held every day, arriving around 10:30 with fifteen minutes of class-time to spare.  I made my way in to the classroom as quietly as possible and seated myself in the back so as to not disturb the other students who were observing the lecture on oligopolies.  The class was midway through an example which I quickly scrawled on my notebook and tried to catch up with.  The minutes flew by and it was time to return home for lunch and a quick break before my next class.
I returned to the dorm and walked upstairs to my room, thoroughly embarrassed at my late start. I proceeded back down the hall to the men’s bathroom/shower room and took a quick shower, hoping that it would properly wake me up. Minutes later I emerged a fresh man, awake and ready to conquer the day.  The time was eleven thirty-five.  I walked back downstairs, through the lobby and common areas, to the dining hall, where after a quick swipe of my student ID card, I enjoyed a quick lunch consisting of halibut prepared atop a bed of mango and lettuce with a side of steamed millet.  From there, I had about an hour until my next course, which I spent perusing the day’s news on my laptop.  At about 12:47, thirteen minutes before the start of my next class I got up, gathered my things anew and proceeded to class, passing by the massive library and entering the main quad.  From there it was a simple process of just finding my class where I am now writing this from.

This entry was posted in CCR exchange: Stanford-AUC, Fall 2010: Political Cartoons and Ads analysis. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Greeting from first batch of Stanford students

  1. ccrvisitor says:

    Hi Stanford,
    Are you interested in learning some Egyptian expressions?
    &
    We want to know what is your perspective about Egyptian humor?

Leave a Reply

