Poverty in Haiti

Poverty in Haiti

        After this year’s earth quake in Haiti and all the news coverage that I saw earlier in the year, I felt the need to try to imagine or comprehend the level of poverty in Haiti.  I am not certain how much help does Haiti receives from other countries but would like to do some research.  I would also like to know if countries that are well off do they empower third world countries.  I don’t believe there is democracy for humanities in third world countries.  I was totally devastated when the earth quake stroke Haiti.

            I plan on researching poverty after the earth quake in Haiti and I plan to find out if they receive help from other countries. If Haiti receives help, what type of help and how is it disbursed?   In addition to the help, do they receive advice from counties who are well off financially?  I would like to use information from CNN and PBS.  In addition I would like to interview my Haitian friend Yvonne.

            I work in Corporate America and have been in the finance industry for a while and have seen so much injustice that it is a topic like this that truly identifies my heart for humanity.  My heart may be small in size but it is gigantic when it for a cause of this magnitude.  I say it all the time that I do not belong in Corporate America.  My heart tells me that I should be dedicating my heart and soul to causes like this. 

            In class we have had several discussions regarding humanities and I feel that it is very important for everyone in our world to work together in finding solutions for problems like poverty here in the US and as well as in third world countries.  How can our society prosper without leaving behind the less fortunate?

By Alicia Garcia –CCNY-Student

This entry was posted in CCR exchange: Stanford-CCNY, Fall 2010: Humanities, Identity, and Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Poverty in Haiti

  1. ccrvisitor says:

    The use of secondary sources like CNN and other news providers is a great contrast to the one-on-one interview with your Haitian friend. These two pieces of evidence will provide an opportunity to analyze and contrast any opposing ideas.

  2. Daniela Parra says:

    The use of secondary sources like CNN and other news providers is a great contrast to the one-on-one interview with your Haitian friend. These two pieces of evidence will provide an opportunity to analyze and contrast any opposing ideas.

  3. Grant Beard says:

    This is an interesting topic, but I’m not sure how well it relates to the humanities (which I’m guessing from other posts is the main point of your project). I like the way that ou plan on studying the way that aid is disbursed and what argument that makes for or against the humanities. Just make sure that you clearly emphasize the connection between the two. Good luck and i hope this helps!

  4. ccrvisitor says:

    This research topic piques my interest, especially considering-as you bring up-the recent earthquake in Haiti. Poverty is a huge problem in many societies, and the more we as humans come to grips with its causes, the better our methods of help will be.

  5. Elizabeth ecker says:

    You seem very passionate about the topic, which will make the research and writing come a lot easier. These are very interesting questions you pose. Just make sure that you stay away from too much wordy opinion. Stay concise and don’t elaborate too much on how it makes you feel. It is obvious that you feel a very strong connection to this topic, which will serve you well. Just try to stay away from too much flowery emotion.

  6. Isabella Sanchez says:

    This sounds like a very interesting topic. I am particularly interested in your investigation of what sort of aid (financial, material), how much aid, and in what way aid is being distributed to Haiti by other countries. As a person who is very interested in economics, I first thought of my knowledge on development economics when thinking about aid to Haiti. Unfortunately, only a small percentage of governmental aid reaches the recipient country, largely due to corruption, especially in less economically developed countries like Haiti where corruption is generally more widespread. However, non-governmental aid sees higher success rates in reaching its targeted recipients, and will be more beneficial to the people of the country if the proper recipients are targeted. Perhaps with further research and specific evidence, this could make the case for or against the humanities in solving the crisis in Haiti.

Leave a Reply

