PROPOSAL ASSIGNMENT

My proposal will deal with a young class I taught some time ago linking the Humanities and children and how they were taught to think critically.

This is a class I taught for a program a few years ago when I was an editor for  local newspaper in Staten Island and the paper received a grant to educate children between 13-19 and expose them to journalism.

Jonathan Gibbs
City College CUNY
Writing for the Humanities-Lynn Reid

This entry was posted in CCR exchange: Stanford-CCNY, Fall 2010: Humanities, Identity, and Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to PROPOSAL ASSIGNMENT

  1. ccrvisitor says:

    I think you can learn a lot from children, even young teenagers. The way their minds absorb everything and the way you can almost see the wheels turning in their heads always amazes me. But you both can learn a lot from each other, so I think it’ll be a good topic.

    -Kristie Ahn

  2. Megan Schwarz says:

    This sounds like a very interesting topic. Kids tend to think very differently from adults, not just in terms of complexity but literally in the way that they interpret the same stimuli. Out of curiosity, what methods were used in the class to teach the children to think critically? Which techniques were successful? Were there any strategies that didn’t work? I think you’ll be able to find a lot of information for this topic. Good luck!

    -Megan Schwarz (Stanford University)

  3. ccrvisitor says:

    I actually have no recollection of how I learned to think critically. I’m not sure how my English teachers taught us how and I only remember getting a headache when asked to write my first book report. 🙂 One’s perception changes as one grows older and it would be interesting to see just how.

    I am also a journalist and I think that if you would like to concentrate on the area of journalism it would be good to see how children’s perception of the news evolves as they grow older and to see at around what age children start to be less observant and more critical about the things happening around them.

    I think this is a good topic that would greatly help the education system, especially the system in high school (13-19 yrs old).

    Geraldine Baniqued

Leave a Reply

