The Proposal

I have chosen to do my research on the uneducated remaining complacent. This topic hits home for me. I have allowed myself to unconsciously live my life in a bubble with no interest to the outside world. This has been done due to financial circumstance. I have allowed myself to become closed off  As a minority woman in a democratic society exposure to the humanities have been limited. People who are lower end of education have a tendency to overlook humanities and see it as unnecessary. I would like to bring awareness to the importance of humanities in education regardless of one’s level of social economic class.

  1. I would like to accomplish bring awareness to of humanities in education
  2. Show how different economic class are educated differently

Something that I need to learn more about is history. There is a history behind the minority being complacent.  I would need to investigate the effects humanities and the educational system.

 Maryann Rhame

CCNY

This entry was posted in CCR exchange: Stanford-CCNY, Fall 2010: Humanities, Identity, and Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Proposal

  1. ccrvisitor says:

    I think your suggested topic is very interesting. I grew up in the Washington DC area, and there is a lot of importance on worldly issues. I would agree that there are many students in the US, minorities in particular, who are raised in some kind of confinement. Sometimes students are limited to their neighborhood and surroundings, and just do not experience what is beyond their own state or even city. I think students growing up oblivious to the world around them may have a harder time setting goals.

    I thought I had a good idea of what the world was like, but growing up in a suburb of a major city is not representative of the rest of the world. When I took US Government in my senior year of high school, I learned a lot about America’s past and current issues, many of which I had never heard before. I would agree that humanities can be useful for educating students about the world beyond their living spaces.

    Kennan Murphy-Sierra

  2. ccrvisitor says:

    I totally agree that people should pay more attention to humanities, regardless of their educational background. I think that sometimes it’s not given enough credit even though you can learn so much from that area and basically everyone can somewhat relate to it. As for learning about history, I think it’d be good to know the general background of it, but personally, I wouldn’t go too much into it.

    Kristie Ahn

  3. ccrvisitor says:

    I think this topic is really interesting–I feel like I grew up in a bubble as well and it’s sort of a constant struggle to change my views. But I do agree that humanities can be an excellent way of bridging the gap between the bubble and reality and need to be taken more seriously in school. Beyond showing how different classes are educated differently, you might look at the different disciplines of the humanities and the level of minority involvement in those disciplines in later life as well. Best of luck, this looks like a fun project!

    Teresa Caprioglio

  4. Sean Park says:

    Your topic has a strong impact. I do agree that the study of humanities is often overlooked when people are faced with practical, and I guess more real, problems. I simply thought there is no other choice for those with financial or other imminent difficulties than to give up on literature or history. But your thesis seems to suggest otherwise. I would definitely like to see the end result of your research, how humanities can help even those who are mired in challenging environment. I think you can use autobiographies of some historic figures for the paper. There are many who continued studying even when they were poor and devastated.

  5. Alex Simon says:

    This topic has a lot of potential which is amplified by your strong personal connection to it. I think you need to find the balance that you want in your paper between the opportunities that the lower class is afforded and their response to these opportunities; just because they are not offered more opportunities does not necessarily imply that they are complacent with the opportunities that they have.

Leave a Reply

