“WAKE UP!!!!!!!!!” that is usually the first thing I hear every morning, as my mum shouts while she is pulling the curtains, opening the windows and removing my bed sheets all at the same time. I start crawling out of the very warm and cozy bed into the hard cold air. I start to make what seems to be a very long way to the bathroom across the room while mumbling about the morning shock my mum gives me every day. After I take a shower, eat a small breakfast (which usually consists of a cheese or turkey sandwich) and change into the clothes I usually arrange the day before; I drive my car to the bus pick-up point and as soon as I get on the bus, I start my iPod, put on my headphones and take my morning nap on my way to the AUC, which takes about 90 minutes.

After a long journey (and nap) I reach the campus. I go through the gates and through the security staff who act like members of the CIA, wearing their black sun glasses, black suits, and holding their walky-talkies, they check our bus passes, IDs and bags then they let us into our world.

My classes usually starts at 8:30 however, sometimes other classes starts at 11:00. Sunday and Wednesday I have my favorite class, which is scientific thinking, I consider it the best subject as it teaches me how to think and differentiate between scientific and non-scientific thinking. I start at 8:30 on Monday and Thursday which is an art class and after it I have my English class at 11:30. One of the things I really love about the education system at AUC is although I am majoring in Mass Comm. I can take liberal arts and science courses at the same time, expanding my knowledge and increasing my job opportunities.

After my morning classes, the most amazing hour of the day begins, which is the “assembly hour”, it is the hour at which all the students of the university have free of classes (from 1:00 to 2: 00 o’clock). In this hour, I rush to do whatever I can, from meeting up with my friends, hurrying to the food court so we can order our lunch (which I prefer to be “chicken Mac-do” from Macdonald’s), and talk together on our way back to the library where finish up our assignments or surf the internet. Some days I have meetings with the members of the club I joined which is SU (student union) to discuss our main event for the semester which is the Talent Show and start planning it, and then I head back to my evening classes. I really can’t imagine my day without this break!

At two, I start my evening class which is either history or mass comm. History in an outstanding class, and I am really considering making double majors (history and mass comm.), it’s amazing how in this class I forget about anything that is going on at the present time and live in a world where we read amazing speeches from Martin Luther King to Kennedy, we learn to analyze different aspects of the language and figures of speech they are using and we actually learn how to present an effective speech.

Functioning as a student and an assistant editor for “Caravan”, a weekly magazine published by students, makes it typical to spend a couple of hours after I’m done with my classes to assist the editor in selecting stories for print. This is the best part of my day where I get in touch not only with the reporters, photographers, and students with writing skills or artistic talent but with those who contributed significantly to the students’ life on campus. It’s about the inspiration we acquire with the presence among successful people.  Accordingly, we conduct interviews that narrate the experience of students who represented The American University at Cairo in national competitions and matches or else by choral and folk dances at festivals abroad. Furthermore, we mention the educational importance of debates that takes action by scholars, diplomats, political, cultural and business figures from Cairo and abroad who has been hosted. Besides, the challenge we face to issue a column that enthusiastically all students observe is which states the concerts the university has booked with international ensembles on tour. Finally, in a liberal environment we grant the students the right to criticize whatever they consider is of poor quality or quantity, such freedom granted to us by the university to grant students inspires me to rule democratically a small community.

This entry was posted in CCR exchange: Stanford-AUC, Spring 2011: Humor and Political Regimes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

