Russia-US Leaders: Group B

Hello everyone, my name is Jeff Chen.

 

I am a sophomore at Stanford University and I am majoring in Science Technology and Society with a focus in Management Science and Engineering. I am also minoring in Sociology and hope further investigate organizational behavior in the business world. I enjoy the outdoors and love back country skiing and snow camping. I have a profound fascination with all things coffee related and love to make my own espresso drinks.

Like many other college students, I am profoundly dependent on Google’s Gmail and Calendar applications. I use Gmail to send out all of my emails and I literally structure my entire day using Google calendar (G-Cal?). I know I am not the only one who depends on Google’s services to run their lives. I am willing to bet that the super majority of adults (at least in the US) use Gmail as their primary email program. Millions more use Google owned Android phones and Chrome web browser. Almost everyone uses the Google search engine to find things online (just Google it!). I think it’s safe to say that a significant portion of Internet users use at least one Google owned service. But what if Google is stealing your personal information? What has Google said about online personal privacy? I am interested in exploring the topic of internet privacy through the rhetoric of former Google CEO Eric Schmidt. Mr. Schmidt has frequently made statements about online personal privacy that have sparked cries of protest from privacy groups like Consumer Watchdog. In a 2009 CNBC interview, Mr. Schmidt said “If you have something that you don’t want anyone to know, maybe you shouldn’t be doing it in the first place.” He has also been quoted saying “We [google] know where you are.. with your permission. We know where you’ve been with your permission. We can more or less guess what you’re thinking about.”

I want to find out how Google products such as Gmail, Google Calendar, Android, and Chrome can be used by so many people without any widespread fear of Google’s information piracy. If Google does in fact collect personal data, would you still use Gmail? I know I would.

 

Thanks for reading through my blog post and I hope I haven’t disillusioned any of you about Google!

 

I look forward to working with the Khabarovsk group on analyzing Obama and Medvedev’s oratory skills as leaders.

Cheers,

Jeff

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

