US-Sweden Leaders: Aracely Mondragon

Hey all,
My name is Aracely Mondragon. I am a sophomore at Stanford University. I am passionate about social justice, community organizing, and activism in general. I am very involved with the Latino activist group on campus and care deeply about issues like immigrant rights and health disparities in underserved communities. I am currently undeclared but am considering a major in Sociology with a minor in Latin American studies. I am unsure of what I am doing after college. I have not ruled out medical school and have also considered public health. There are many things I am unsure of, but the one thing I am sure of is that I want to one day work with an underserved community.
For my global leadership project, I am going to be looking at Dolores Huerta. Dolores Huerta is the co-founder of the United Farm Workers union and a prominent figure in Chicano/Latino history. I want to look at her rhetoric when helping organize farm workers. How did she help mobilize such a large community to stand up for their rights? Did her gender play any role in her organizational efforts? Was her rhetoric different when negotiating with farm owners? If so, how? I am excited to research how Dolores Huerta was such an effective leader in the farm worker’s movement of the 1960’s.

This entry was posted in Spring 2011: Intercultural Communication for Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

