US-Sweden Leaders: Jared Lesansee

Hello everyone,

My name is Jared Lesansee. I am from the high desert, multicultural city of Albuquerque, New Mexico where the chile is hot and the sunsets are breathtaking. In fact our state is known as “The Land of Enchantment.” I am in my second year at Stanford, and I plan on pursuing a major in American Studies with a minor in Native American Studies. In general, I highly enjoy studying the social sciences. Some things I do on campus are: tutor youth, play intramural basketball, and study the bible with friends. I also like to camp and run on trails. After Stanford, I intend to assist American Indian tribes in some capacity with my education.

In my research project, I will study the rhetoric of Carlo Petrini, a global leader passionate about reshaping the relationship societies have with their food. As the founder of Slow Food International and the Terra Madre organizations, he brings together educators, food producers, cooks, and students from across the globe in order to promote sustainable agriculture and food production. His organization hosts a biannual conference, which attracts people from over 100 countries. In my research I will attempt to identify which parts of his argument appeal to such a large number of very diverse people.

Jared Lesansee, Stanford University

This entry was posted in CCR exchange: Stanford-Uppsala, Spring 2011: Intercultural Communication for Leadership, Stanford Global Leaders class. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

